Universidade do Minho  

Site Map

The Department of Chemistry is part of the School of Sciences of the University of Minho. The department’s facilities offer the infrastructure necessary for all educational activities.
The faculty consists of 26 teachers with PhD, and a body of technical and administrative staff consisting of 6 elements.
The department offers degrees in Chemistry and in Biochemistry and provides course units in various courses of the Schools of Sciences and of Engineering.
The department offers two master's degrees in accordance with the guidelines of Bologna, namely, Medicinal Chemistry and Chemical Analysis and Characterization Techniques. The Department of Chemistry, in partnership with the Department of Biology, also features a 2nd cycle in Applied Biochemistry. In addition to these, the Department of Chemistry participates in two master’s courses of the School of Sciences involving all departments namely master in Teacher Continuing Education with three distinct areas of expertise (Physics and Chemistry, Biology and Geology and Mathematics ) and the master on Environmental Sciences and Technologies. The Department of Chemistry also offers a doctoral program in Chemistry.
The research activity is developed in the Chemistry Center in four areas of research: Electrochemistry and Environment; Biological Chemistry; Synthesis and Application of Heterocyclic Compounds; Synthesis and Application of Amino Acids.


  © 2024 Universidade do Minho  - Legal Terms  - updated by Química Símbolo de Acessibilidade na Web D.